Facility of the Year Award

Since 1971 the Committee has been recognizing industrial facilities with an exemplary commitment to wastewater management and protection of our waterways.  The FOTY Award gives an opportunity for P3S regulators to provide positive publicity and recognition of the industrial community’s efforts and successes in protecting the water environment.  We hope this award serves as incentive for industrial users to strive to meet and exceed environmental standards. Facilities are nominated by environmental compliance inspectors.  The awards process provides for nominees to be categorized as either a small or large facility.  A pair of judging committees in northern and southern California review the applications, choose finalists, and tour each finalist facility.  The winners (and often times runners-up) are recognized at the Facility of the Year Awards Luncheon at the Annual P3S Conference.

Do you know an industrial user that should be recognized for their efforts and performance in process wastewater pretreatment technology, material recycling, waste minimization, pollution prevention practices or stormwater runoff control programs? Here is your chance to provide them the recognition they deserve.

Nominate for the 2019 Facility of the Year Awards using this form.

Or nominate on-line at

Nominations will be due by Friday, November 1, 2019.

Facility of The Year Winners

P3S Person of the Year

Each year, the Committee recognizes P3S professionals for exceptional achievement and contribution to the profession.

Nominations are solicited from the local sections and other standing committees of CWEA.  Winners are decided based on their involvement in implementation or enforcement of P3S regulations, their contributions to improving P3S practices, and their commitment to theirs and their peers’ professional development.  The winners (and often times runners-up) are recognized at the Awards Luncheon and at the P3S Committee meeting at the CWEA Annual Conference.

P3S Person of the Year nominations are coordinated through the CWEA Awards website.

P3S Persons of The Year

Order of the Silver Cover

The committee is run by P3S professionals for P3S professionals. Our work would not be possible without the help of an amazing network of volunteers from the P3S community.  We are grateful for each and every one who contributes their time and invaluable expertise  into making our committee a success.  As a small token our appreciation, exceptionally-dedicated volunteers with long-term service to the Committee are inducted into “The Order of the Silver Cover”. Each year, new inductees are selected by a sub-committee of past volunteers and Silver Cover members.  The inductees are announced at the Annual P3S Conference.

If you would like to nominate a volunteer, please send your nomination and brief statement of support to [email protected].

Order of the Silver Cover Inductees